Apolytirion Lykeio equivalent to English exams

Anything and everything about living in (or moving to) Greece which isn't covered in other forums here.

Apolytirion Lykeio equivalent to English exams

Postby Castaway » Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:19 am

I am just beginning to realise how badly the Greek Goverment represents its students. It would appear that the British and Greek ministries of Education in discussing the equivalent value of the Apolytirion have, in my opinion, greatly undervalued the efforts of their students. I was informed by a UK university yesterday that they had referred to the NARIC site which says the an Apolytirion grade 16 is equal to ONE AS level! Whats more a 17.5 is equivalent to ONE A level!
How can this be, our children are studying for 3 years, in considerable depth, 7 subjects on which they are then tested in their Panellinies AND school exams and study 8 other subjects as well..... how can that be equated to one A level. I now understand why some universities ask for the Apolytirion PLUS 2 other A levels. I have watched friends struggle with the university application palava but now understand what they are up against.
Shheeesh, does any one have any advice about convincing a UK university just what a child has had to do to get a 16/17 in the Apolyterion? Does anyone have any proof that that is really how the Apolytirion equates to Englsih exams. I have googled till Im blue in the face and cannot find any comparison sites.
Sue
The more people I meet, the more I like my dog.
Castaway
Hoplite

Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Apolytirion Lykeio equivalent to English exams

Postby nikanne » Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:44 pm