What TEFL qualification is required for a teaching licence.

Forums Living in Greece Employment What TEFL qualification is required for a teaching licence.

This topic contains 11 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  nimbus 5 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

ikonographics
    Participant
    Neophyte

Hi
    I’m a doctoral student at the university of Athens with a degree and Masters from the same university, and I’m looking into teaching English(I’m a native speaker from S. Africa). My student residence permit does allow me to get a part time work permit.
    I have a few questions and wonder if anyone here can help me.
    1) Does one need a TEFL qualification to get a teaching licence?
    2) If so, does it have to be a specific qualification (e.g. CELTA). I’ve been looking into doing an online TEFL course (http://www.icalweb.com/cms/ – any good?) because I can’t afford to do the CELTA course, but I don’t know if this will be recognized.
    3) Does anyone know of the exact paperwork needed?

Thanks in advance! ic_smile

sjs – GiH Admin
    Keymaster
    Aristotelic

I’m sure a current teacher can help with a lot of this, but obviously ICAL advertise on this site and I know they have graduates working here so I’m guessing it’s sufficient. The bottom line is that the school decides.

GiH Admin

Manisha
    Participant
    Neophyte

You do not require a TEFL qualification, although obviously it would help you in a practical and personal way if you have no teaching experience. Legally, you need a degree (any subject) from a recognised institution; recognised, that is, by DIKATSA, which is the section of the Greek Ministry of Education responsible for validating degrees from foreign universities. They are a bit behind the times and you may find that while degrees from, say, Southampton University are recognised, degrees from what used to be Portsmouth Polytechnic are not.

abbyk
    Participant
    Neophyte