Well I’m finally doing it.

Forums Living in Greece Meet & Greet Well I’m finally doing it.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  KP 2 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

bawdekin
    Participant
    Neophyte

Hi everyone. I’m packed! I’ve got 52 kilos of baggage and excess baggage and I leave this Saturday to start the first step of my new life.
    Can I give you a very brief run down of where I have got to so far and maybe you might be able to provide any advice?

My partner and I have been visiting Greece for 24 years, and over the last decade we’ve been making multiple trips per year and can even speak a teeny tiny bit of Greek “allá den eínai polý kalá!” (I actually had to look that up in the end – my Greek is crxp!). We now have more friends on the island than we do in the UK so….
    My partner has taken early retirement – he has no ties or responsibility to anything now so we have decided to move to Greece.

We’re going to do this very slowly. I’m not really in a position to give up my job just yet so I’m going to give it another year just to make sure. I work in a college so I can visit every 4 – 6 weeks with a long summer break. He’s left already and got a small apartment for a modest rent. My suitcase is filled with the contents of our flat!

Lets see how it goes …but…but the more I think about it the more I just want to get over there.

I’m arty and trained as a tailor….gonna try and get work free-lance in those fields (I have one or two contacts) but want to do things legally and properly and also not step on any toes. I’ve got a lot of research still to do.

I daren’t tell you which island..I can see the eyes rolling from here!

Anyway..hope I’ve got the right page to post this in and I hope I haven’t rambled on too much. There’s lots of advice I need in the future so I hope you’ll be able to help me.
    Thanks.

sjs – GiH Admin
    Keymaster
    Aristotelic

Lucky you and good luck! reb_bravo

GiH Admin

kolofarthos